Crouching at the door

To ‘crouch’ means “to lower your body to the ground by bending your legs. Of an animal, it is to lie on the stomach close to the ground with the legs bent.” The whole idea is sneak up on a prey as though you’re going to attack. 

I visualize the cat sneaking up on its prey getting ready to pounce. You watch and you wait until just the right moment and the cat leaps, catches its prey by surprise and dominates its life. 

The Pounce

The same picture is painted in Genesis 4:7, “If you do well, will not your countenance be lifted up? And if you do not do well, sin is crouching at the door; and its desire is for you, but you must master it.”” 

There are two brief remarks I want to make. The first is this. Without question there are times when sin sneaks up on you ready to pounce on your life and dominate you. As the scripture tells us, ‘we must master it.’  Therefore walk as you are the prey and sin is indeed crouching at the door. Be ready. Be prepared. Be strong in the faith. 

A second observation I have is sin is not always ‘crouching at the door.’ Sometimes it “stands up” and announces itself as speaking through a bullhorn! We see it coming a long distance away. We know what it is and what could come of it if we fall prey to its domination. Instead of resisting the sin, more and more people are embracing sin, announcing their sinfulness and expect others to embrace it! It’s almost like sin is a praise report? Look at me and what I’ve done. Should Christina’s clap with celebration? Christians,  remember to love the people who has sinned without embracing their sin. 

Friends, to object to the sin and to stand against sin is not to reject a person nor to stand against a person. It is the sin that destroys. Anger can be a loving response when under the control of the Holy Spirit.  I don’t appreciate when people take offense to someone standing against sin as though that someone is standing against them. It is not true for the genuine mature Christian who understands the devastation sin has on a life. 

I also don’t appreciate people thinking others should embrace their sin as though it is a good thing. People announcing sin like it’s a reason for celebration in a slap to the holy face of God. While I’m not trying to make enemies, I no doubt will at the very least offend. Though not my intent, I love my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and will consider Him first and foremost. 

It breaks my heart and discourages me when I see people willingly take the road of life that opposes the God who loves them and created them. Praise Him for His long suffering and merciful love and forgiveness. 

Dear one, don’t let sin reign in you. Confess, repent and seek forgiveness. Live for God who gave His Son Jesus Christ to die for you. 

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Discipleship, Faith, God's Favor, Holy Spirit, Jesus, Life's Lessons, love, Religious, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

