Ingredients of total surrender 

  • 12: “”This is My commandment, that you love one another, just as I have loved you. 
  • 13: Greater love has no one than this, that one lay down his life for his friends. 
  • 14: You are My friends if you do what I command you. 
  • 15: No longer do I call you slaves, for the slave does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I have heard from My Father I have made known to you.” John 15:12-15 NASB

I feel ill-equipped to speak on this subject today. To talk of giving ones life for another is a position I’ve not put myself in like those who gave their life serving in our armed forces. 

When I listen to those who speak of their friends who died by their side as they both hunkered down in a foxhole somewhere or was shot down trying to take a hill or mountain or some parcel of land. 

These are lives we cannot put a $ value on. They were lives surrendered for a specific purpose. This is Memorial Day weekend. It is a time we reflect on those who lost their lives serving our country. It is not the time to honor those who served for that is done at Veterans Day. 

Each man or woman who laid down their lives have certain qualities that you and I as God-fearing, born again children of God ought to exhibit. These qualities were also seen in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. All of these qualities are ingredients found within the act of total surrender. 

I. Courage 

You think of the courage our military men and women had to had to put their lives on the line and then to give it up for us in their service for our country. 

They stood firm in the face of danger, challenges and opposition.

Wars are full of heroic acts on the land, sea, and the air. 

I submit to you our Lord Jesus Christ showed the quality of courage. Jesus Christ had the courage to speak when He needed to and the courage to be silent as well. In the face of His enemies, the tremendous beating, flogging and the carrying of His Cross to Calvary we see great Courage. 

We also see great love! 

II. Comradeship 

I’m told and no doubt believe in the special connection between those who serve in the military. Especially those who serve for many years. 

It is a comradeship worth remembering. People from all walks of life coming together for a common cause. 

Jesus gave His life that we might live. That we might have life and it more abundantly. (John10:10b) 

Jesus lives again that we might live with Him in eternity. There have been no doubt great Comrades formed among those in the armed forces but none can compare to the one we can have when Jesus is our comrade in the battle against sin. We partner with Jesus to defeat death, hell, and the grave. 

III. Dedication 

Our country has faced terrifying responsibilities. Our country has faced enormous odds. 

Yet because of the dedication of men and women across our nation we are free today to experience liberty. Their wholehearted dedication trumpets the call for us to honor their lives given for us by using our freedom in honorable ways. 

Our Lord dedicated Himself to His Father. (Mt. 26:39) We need the same dedication. 

IV. Sacrifice 

The men and women who served our country and paid the ultimate cost losing their lives did not want to die. Yet the supreme sacrifice was paid. Multitudes have given their lives. 

Our Lord gave His life. Voluntarily John 10:17,18 

Far too often you and I chose not to sacrifice. 

Surely we must realize that we are called to Courage – Comradeship – Dedication – and Sacrifice 

We need to see the enemy, the danger before us. We need repentance, confession, and reconciliation. 

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Death, Leadership, Life's Lessons, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

