I Can’t Count The Times

I’be seen on television and have heard of the times when a person would be walking down the street in a state of deep reflection when they turn to go up the steps into the building. 

They would go into a church and wander into the sanctuary. Maybe take a seat in one of the pews. Nothing really said. Not a whole lot done. Yet much was accomplished. 

Many times I, as a pastor, would go into the church alone and reflect. I did this often. Questions filled the air as I spoke to God. Tonight is one of those times when, if I were a pastor, I’d go to the church. I’d find some solitude and a place of refuge. I would seek answers in the quiet of the room. Commune with God. This is one big reason the church worship center ought to be a sanctuary and not an auditorium. 

I read once where Christians were accused of using God like a crutch. Truth be told, I do. Just like the time I broke my leg in three places, I needed and I used crutches to lift me up. Likewise, when my heart is broke or heavy, I go to God to sustain and lift me. If any should regard that as a crutch then so be it. 

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High Will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the LORD, “My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!” For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper And from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with His pinions, And under His wings you may seek refuge; His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭91:1-4‬ ‭NASB‬‬ http://bible.com/100/psa.91.1-4.nasb 

 
Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

