The Alarm Clock


Don’t you just love the alarm clock! That aggravating tool that tells us what we ought to do and that’s it’s time to do it! 

My wife and I use our cell phones as our alarm clock. Mine rings and I get up. I have it set for the time I need to get up and get moving. My wife on the other hand employs the snooze feature. She has it timed out to how many snooze sessions she can have before she has to get up and arrive only ten minutes late (just kidding honey). 

If you are like me your cell phone has other alarms than the time. Just this morning I woke up to the following alarms. 

A senseless killing
Racism
Domestic Abuse
Prejudice and discretion
God Made A Mistake?

These links are just a quick handful of stories in the USA Today news app. They give a glimpse into the other ‘alarms’ sounding in our days. It is a sad commentary on the wickedness and confusion of people. He desire to ‘live as you please’ has kicked absolutes, appropriateness and acceptability to the curb. 

There are few absolute right or wrongs in our day. The day is coming when those will become negotiable. I.e. Pedophilia. 

What used to be inappropriate is now deemed left to the individuals preference. For example, funeral and church attire, the vocabulary used in front of little kids, respect for elders and the lives of little children. Now, the focus is to argue not for what is appropriate but what I want because it is my decision and “Only God Can Judge Me.” Well, my friend, it is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of an angry God. (Hebrews 10:31) 

Society is called upon to accept what used to be unacceptable. We have not evolved but continue to devolve into greater depravity (wickedness).

The alarm clock is an aggravating tool but it serves a great purpose if used properly. The other alarm clock that serves an even greater purpose and will serve us tremendously into eternity if used properly is Gods Word. 

So what are you to follow? The World? 

The World

Or The Word?

The Word

Until Next Time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, God's Favor, Happiness, Heaven, Religious, Scripture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

