Cross Examination

“The steps of a man are established by the LORD, And He delights in his way. When he falls, he will not be hurled headlong, Because the LORD is the One who holds his hand.” Psalms 37:23-24 NASB

Approximately thirty four years ago (1981) I was accused of a crime. I can recall sitting at the defendant’s table with my lawyer. I was very nervous, anxious about what would happen in the hearing. 

There came a point when I took the stand. My lawyer asked the relevant questions. I answered as truthfully as I knew how. 

Then it happened. It was time for the Cross-Examination. It was an intense examination. All sorts of questions were asked and answered. The judge sat perched upon his platform listening intently to all that was said. 

I was totally innocent and truth won out. In fact the judge passionately chastised the accuser for wasting the courts time. From time to time I still think about that Cross-Examination. 

In April, 1978 (approximately 38 years ago), I was accused of a crime. Some three years prior to the one I just shared with you. I was very nervous, anxious about what would happen in the trial. 

I’d dare say I was more nervous in this trial just in the second. It was an intense examination. Questions were asked which went to the very core of my being, deep into the recesses of my soul.

I was being judged. In this particular trial I was totally honest and confessed my guilt. I was totally, completely and very much aware I was guilty. 

I suspect my accuser delighted in taking me before the court. He seems to like telling on people and making trouble for them, for me and for you. 

When I realized my wrongs and the penalty was more than I could bear I cried out for help. I had a debt I could not pay. There was one who answered my cry for help. By now you know my crime was intentional and was against God. 

It was Jesus who came and rescued me. He paid my ransom. He satisfied the requirement of the Judge who ordered my total separation from Him. Jesus died so that I might live. 

I believe my second hearing went my way was because I was seeking to live for God. Therefore, God ordered my steps and when my accuser wanted to throw me headlong, God held me up. 

As parents of small children know, whenever you walk through a store, cross a road or wade through a crowd, it is best to hold the child’s hand. You hold it, not the child holding yours. Well, my friend that is how it is with God. He holds your hand. It is His way of ordering your steps. 

Just as a child might stumble and begin to fall, the parents, holding to that child’s hand, pulls up their arm to stop the fall. 

Jesus, while on the cross, reached downward with one hand while reaching upward to God’s hand so He might join together those two hands. My friend that’s the way to have your steps ordered my the Lord. (Psalm 37:23-24) 

“having canceled out the certificate of debt consisting of decrees against us, which was hostile to us; and He has taken it out of the way, having nailed it to the cross.” Colossians 2:14 NASB 

“and through Him to reconcile all things to Himself, having made peace through the blood of His cross; through Him, I say, whether things on earth or things in heaven.” Colossians 1:20 NASB 

Until Next Time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Faith, God's Favor, Jesus, Life's Lessons, Religious, Scripture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

