You are not meant to be a Mother

Motherhood has to be a calling. The demands placed on mothers is not for the weak of heart. It takes devotion and maturity. Not everyone is called to be a mother. This statement is not meant to be negative nor should it be received as such. 

Last night I went to a local grocery store. As I was unloading the groceries into my vehicle, I observed a woman who appeared to be a grandmother telling small kids in her van whom I supposed to be her grandchildren to ‘sit their ***** down.’ She went on to tell them she’d “smack that smile off their face.” I must say I wrestled with commenting back. I held my tongue. Right or wrong, I kept quiet? 

I thought; lets mind my own business. Stay in my own affairs. I was good until she told the children, “I’ll slap the &$@!! out of you.” I so wanted to tell this woman, ” And that’s when I’ll slap you!” But I didn’t. 

Not everyone needs to be a mother nor a father. Some moms and dads don’t need the children left with  grand parents. Not everyone needs to be a mom, dad, or take on the duties of a grandparent. Temperament, agility, and many more factors should be considered. I’m not trying to be harsh. I just know what you and I have seen and thought and many times just didn’t say what we were thinking. 

I’m a brand new grandparent. The grandson is just over two months old at the time of writing this post. I look at him. I hear his grunts and cries and watch his facial expressions. I feel his breath on my face while holding him. I love the little man so much that if I should ever get to where I couldn’t or wouldn’t do what’s best for him, I should not be allowed the responsibility to care for him. 

I’m anticipating my first granddaughter in approximately a month. The same will be true for her as it is for him. I believe if I should have seen the woman referred to earlier smack one of those kids, who by the way seemed to be behaving better than the adult, I’d intervened. 

The Holy Bible says ‘in as much as you’ve done unto the least of these, you have done unto me.’ I take that to mean whether it is good or bad. 

Not everyone is meant to be a parent. Not everyone is meant to be a grandparent. There is no shame in that. In fact, to acknowledge it is a greater sign of wisdom than shame. 

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, God's Favor, Leadership, Life's Lessons, love, Scripture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

