Outsourcing Church Ministries

I have to be careful not to think on this too much because it distresses me. Apparently this is a more and more frequent approach some church fellowships are taking. 

Instead of the local church congregation taking on a mission project, the leaders elect to decline. Why? Liability issues. They are afraid of being sued. Litigation scares them off. 

Also instead of doing their own church ministries they advertise for other local congregations and outsource their youth ministry etc, to those churches. Some financial expenditures but an “all in” approach appears lacking. 

I wonder if there are liability issues with God and the local churches approach to outsource? Is it considered? Risk taking for the cause of Christ is worth the risk when you are doing what God has called you to do. 

Should the church fellowship be made up of relatively small numbers or of senior adults whose health will not permit missions involvement then I can have some latitude. However, when there are able bodied people and a general spirit of reluctance to “be the church” then inner conflict arises. 

Wonder what the likelihood of churches growing in number, spirit and otherwise are when the attitude of out-sourcing church ministries prevail. I wouldn’t hold my breath. 

I recall an older woman at a church in Kentucky who paid me and a few others to go to her church to help with a specific ministry. I didn’t feel comfortable with it then and I don’t now. I helped the church where the lady attended and accepted her money only to place it in that churches offering plate. 

Dear local church, if you do not wish to do missions, perhaps you should consider Matthew 28:18-20, and many more passages, and the purpose you have in being at your location.

Until Next Time

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Church, Discipleship, Leadership, Missions, Scripture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

