Sign my Bible

It seemed foreign to me. It was the first time I ever actually seen it happen. I had not heard of it before. 

I used to attend a Pastor’s School and Bible Conference every year from the late 1990’s into the early 2000’s. It was a great experience to hear well known pastors, evangelists and biblical scholars expound the Word of God. What struck me as odd was bible students and pastors asking the speakers to sign their bibles. I guess it’s okay but I thought I’d feel awkward making that kind of request. 

Now if the speakers had written their own book and were asked to sign it then it seemed more appropriate. I’ve done that. Adding a speakers initial to the bible wouldn’t add any value, in my estimation, to the Word of God. While I appreciate what so many pastors, bible scholars, evangelist and the like have done in their service to the Lord I personally couldn’t ask for them to sign my bible. Is that wrong? 

While I don’t feel like I’m being covetous or critical some may think otherwise. I’ve wondered why I would ask these great men of God to sign my bible and have not come up with a good reason. Any suggestions? 

Until Next Time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Religious, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

