Valley of the Shadow

You’re walking down the side of the road when a tractor trailer rig is barreling down on you. Those 18 wheels are singing as it draws nearer and nearer. I know it is a foolish question but would you rather be hit by the truck or by the shadow of the truck? Naturally you will say the shadow! The shadow doesn’t hurt! It might put a scare in ya for a moment but it passes. (Pun intended)

Though it’s a foolish question, I asked it to make a point. Would you like to experience death or the shadow of death? Note the following familiar scripture. “Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I fear no evil, for You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me.” ‭‭Psalms‬ ‭23:4‬ ‭NASB‬‬ 

The person who has placed his/her faith in Jesus Christ for salvation will not experience death. It’s sad we do not have a better word for the ending of a life here as we transition into the hereafter. Hospitals use words like ‘expired’ and terminated (abortions). 

I take comfort in knowing when my life here ends, it will be continued with Jesus in heaven. That’s not death! That’s great expectation of unending glory!! 

It is the person who dies without Jesus Christ as his/her personal Savior who actually experiences death. Biblical death is best defined as separation from God. Eternal separation from the loving gracious God has to be hell. Why would anyone want to experience death and hell when they could experience only the shadow of death and eternal joy, happiness and immense glory with God the Father? 

What direction are you headed into? Being hit by death, like the tractor trailer rig, or near death, like the shadow of a big rig? 

I want to invite to to join me in heaven. Only the valley of the shadow of death will be our experience. 

Until Next Time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Death, Faith, Heaven, Religious, Scripture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

