God is not fair

Those people who do not embrace the biblical teaching of a God who embodies everything there is about love will want to agree ‘God is not fair.’ There are also those people who do embrace the teaching for the bible of a God who not only embodies love but actually IS love. Those same people may also be heard saying ‘God is not fair.’

We have to mention there are those who will take the position ‘God IS fair!’ They’ll argue God He has the right to do as He pleases. 

This subject matter is very deep in theological treatment therefore I will not exhaust my attention to it. Rather, I will attest to a basic premise. I will tell you “God is not fair, He is, however, Just

Romans chapter two (2) verse (11) tells us God is no ‘respecter’ (KJV) or shows no ‘partiality’ (NASB) of/to persons. In order to show no partiality to any one person God must love everyone equally. The good, bad, righteous, unrighteousness, just and unjust. It also means bad things will happen to good people and good things will happen to bad people. 

God is always up to something. Incidents, circumstances, events or what ever you want to call episodes of life, there is some divine purpose behind it all. Trying to figure out why those tragedies happen turns out to be a futile attempt to read the mind of God. More often it is well after such events before we see the why. 

The challenge is to move on from ‘why’ to getting to the ‘how.’ We, who embrace the loving God of the holy bible, must get to the place where we ask God how He wants us to respond to, reaction, and reflect His glory. The bible does tell us to ‘let our light shine so we might glorify our God in heaven.’ 

The hurts are real. The pain intense. The explanations varied. Often without empathy or sympathy as people try to explain the why of our terrible experiences. Do you think God owes us an explanation? I have thought that. I’ve also come to the place where I’ve all but demanded God explained Himself. I’ve also realized I gave myself to Him and His will. Therefore God has the right to do with me whatever He pleases. God made me as his creation and I came to the place where I embraced Him as my Heavenly Father and became His child. 

Adversity still interrupts our lives. Charles Stanley wrote a book many years ago titled, How To Handle Adversity. I highly recommend it.  I’m resigned to God not being fair. I’m comforted in God being just. I’m tested when I want to think God is not fair. I want His blessings and not life’s abundant hurts and struggles. 

Focus? God’s attribute of Just or being handcuffed to focusing on God as unfair. Which one sets you free? God’s justice. 

Until Next Time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Discipleship, Life's Lessons, Scripture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

