In Honor of Buddy

I think we got along good for the most part. Buddy could be annoying in his later days. Knowing of his condition and age helped me to deal with some of his unusual behavior. He was a good friend to me. I saw him every day unless I was away overnight. 

I guess you could say I married into his family. He seemed to accept me without reservation. Very seldom did he bark at me. Yes, Buddy was a dog, more specifically a dachshund. 

Buddy passed away last Friday, January 15, 2016. He was almost fifth-teen (15) years old. He enjoyed his cheese puffs and potato chips we would give to him, in moderation of course. Open the refrigerator door to pull out some picnic ham to make yourself a sandwich and before you could get the seal open, Buddy was at your feet. He’d look up at you with those eyes as if to say you’re not going to ignore me are ya? Throw him some Bologna and you have a friend for life. 

There was a special reason and perhaps a divine purpose for Buddy to enter into the family. Andrew, the youngest, had a horrific medical emergency when he was young. Without going into details, Andrew improved and was able to go home. That is when he received a black dachshund puppy. He was like a comfort dog but became Andrew’s close friend. That’s how Buddy got his name. Andrew would call out to his puppy saying, ‘here little buddy’ or ‘here my buddy.’ Thus Buddy! 

The house has an emptiness now. No eyes peering up at you as you eat. No clattering of his feet walking across our hardwood floor. And yes, no barking during the night to be asked to let him out to handle his business. 

I miss Buddy. He won’t be replaced. I’ll not even try. At some point we may get another pet. Whatever pet it is, he or she will have a tough time filling our hearts like Buddy did. 

  
Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, love, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

