Playing God for a fool

No choice but to stop and get gas. As I entered the store to finalize the payment I overheard two women talking as they stood by the door and the counter. The conversation went something like this…

Lady #1 – I know she has been having a really tough go of it.

Lady #2 – yes, but I’m praying God will be with her. I know He will. 

Lady #1 – God will take care of her and us. I will be praying for you. 

Lady #2 – thanks, I’m just trusting God and placing my faith in Him. 

Lady #1 leaves the store and Lady #2 – comes up to the counter and sets her two cases of beer on the counter and states her request for two specific lottery tickets. 

I thought to myself, praise You oh God for Your longsuffering mercy. I so need it. You are so patient in Your wrath and judgment. Your love is everlasting. You wait while we, Your creation and children, try to play you for a fool. God, my fortress, the giver of life and salvation, lead me in Your path and transform me by Your Spirit to live in righteousness. 

“He has told you, O man, what is good; And what does the LORD require of you But to do justice, to love kindness, And to walk humbly with your God?” ‭‭Micah‬ ‭6:8‬ ‭NASB‬‬ http://bible.com/100/mic.6.8.nasb

Are you a doctor we call on just in times of our need? Should we treat you like a hot water bottle to place on aching muscles? Are you there for us or us for You? 

God is not there to answer our prayers while we live outside His will. God expects obedience. (See 1 Samuel 15) He deserves much much more. 

Until next time

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Discipleship, Faith, God's Favor, Holy Spirit, Life's Lessons, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

