World is not my home: Sermon notes

This world is not my home, I’m just a-passin’ through. My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue. The angels beckon me from heavens open door and I don’t feel at home in this world anymore. 
There were many passages of scripture that really bothered me as a young Christian. I just couldn’t get resolution to some of the conflict going on inside of me. One of those passages is 1 John 2:15-17
This passage basically deals with the desires to Do, Have, and Be. It identifies the fourth of seven tests in 1 John which proves that one really knows God. 

  1. Do you keep God’s Commandments? 2:3-6
  2. Do you love your Neighbor? 2:7-11
  3. Do you Remember your Spiritual Growth? 2:12-14
  4. Do you love God more than the World? 2:15-17
  5. Do you guard against the Antichrists or False Teachers? 2:18-23
  6. Do you let the Gospel Abide In You? 2:24-27
  7. Do you Abide in Christ? 2:28-29

 

15) Do not love the world nor the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 

16) For all that is in the world, the lust of the flesh and the lust of the eyes and the boastful pride of life, is not from the Father, but is from the world. 

17) The world is passing away, and also its lusts; but the one who does the will of God lives forever. (1 John 2:15-17 NASB)

  • The Test: Do we love the World? 15a

Illustration: love for mountain stream, sun gleaming though tree branches as it rises to the dawn of a new day.

Does ‘do not love the world’ mean we are not to appreciate the beauty, splendor and resources of the earth?

God has given us the earth and the heavens in which to live, appreciate and enjoy.

In Scripture, ‘the world’ means three things. They are… 

The earth and heavens that are passing away. The world is corruptible, deteriorating and will eventually be destroyed. Believers are not to love the world so much that they desire to stay here more than they desire to be with God in heaven.

The World: A system of man-made governments and societies, some good and some bad. Believers must respect and be loyal to the good, but reject and stand against the bad. Believers must love none of them, to the point that they are more attached to the systems of man’s organizations than they are to God and heaven. Illustration: [Bad] LGBT, ACLU, [Good] Lions Club, CEF, FCA, 

The World: A system of sin and lust and evil and pride and rebellion against God. The world is full of sinful people, evil, lust and pride. People who are in rebellion against God. Believers must not love this sinful system of the world. 

A person is not to love this world, the possessions and pleasures more than they love God. The believer’s eyes are to be focused on God, attached to God, loving God before all else. Do you love God? Belief and Behavior are linked together. To pledge allegiance to one side is to declare opposition to the other.

  • The Professing Man 15b

A particular man is being talked about here. It is the man who loves the world. This is the professing man. 

Verse 17 is about another man. It is the man who does the will of God.

Three things about the professing man. 

1. The professing man loves the world.

Loves and is more attached to this world than he is to God.

The love of the Father is not in him. 

Any person who loves the world does not love the Father.

They forsake the worship of God and The study of His Word in order to be out in nature. 

They are more attached and faithful to man’s government and social organizations than to God and His church and its mission of salvation. 

They are so hungry for the world and the things in the world that they return to its pleasures and possessions. 
2. The professing man follows after the world.

There sins of worldliness

I. The lust of the flesh. 

The flesh is the seat of emotions, desires and urges. These are not sinful unless they are not controlled. 

When the flesh desires something that is directly forbidden by God, it is wrong. 

When the flesh desires and desires and consumes and consumes, then it becomes indulgence. It is wrong.

II. The lust of the eyes.

It is sinful when we see and desire what is directly forbidden by God.

It is sinful when we see and desire in order to consume it upon our lust and to indulge.

III. The pride of life.

The pride of life means self-centeredness, a person who is focused upon himself/herself and wants people to notice him/her.

The pride of life also means self-sufficiency, a person who is focused upon themselves and feels completely capable of handling life themselves. They feel little if any need for God. 

Illustration: “Get your own dirt.”

3. The professing man is not of God.

This man is a “natural” man. Unregenerate. Not born of God but only of flesh. He’s a professor and not a possessor. 

He talks the talk but doesn’t walk the walk. You find him everywhere. Home, work and at play.

  • The Obedient Man

This man does the will of God. Matthew 12:50

He wants God and the life He offers. A life that is both abundant and eternal. John 5:24

He seeks after the will of God, to do what God commands. John 14:23

The wise man turns away from the world and turns to God. 

The obedient man seeks after the will of God, to do what God commands so that he may live with God forever.

This world is not my home I’m just a-passin’ through

My treasures are laid up somewhere beyond the blue

The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door

And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord, You know I have no friend like you

If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?

The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door

And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
I have a loving mother just over in glory land

And I don’t expect to stop until I shake her hand

She’s waiting now for me in heaven’s open door

And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord, You know I have no friend like you

If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?

The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door

And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Just over in glory land we’ll live eternally

The saints on every hand are shouting victory

Their songs of sweetest praise drift back from heaven’s shore

And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore
Oh Lord, You know I have no friend like you

If heaven’s not my home then Lord what will I do?

The angels beckon me from heaven’s open door

And I can’t feel at home in this world anymore

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

