Facebook & A Crisis of Belief

Yes everyone is free to make there own observations, form their own opinions and draw their own conclusions. This freedom is not granted to everyone. If your conclusion falls within the minority of popular public opinion, you are deemed a hater, judgmental, unloving, such and such. 

In my observation of the social media giant called Facebook, I have found pages swarming with religious postings with overtones of living the righteous life. Then of course there are the posting from the ‘religious’ community which strives to promote such tolerance that the principles of righteous living are given in to the desire not to offend or alienate. Compromise ensues. 

I personally don’t like offending. I personally don’t like the tension to comply with principles contrary to righteous living. 

I wonder what’s the motive for sharing so many religious oriented posts on social media sites like Facebook? Could it be those posting such content are encouraging a disciplined devoted righteous life in the trenches of daily, less than pleasing to God, behaviors? Do they think someone will trust Jesus as Savior, be gloriously saved to enter into the Kingdom of God? Not a terrible desire is it?  

Do you suppose more people are lead away from God through social media than there are those lead to God? When the challenges of everyday life flies in direct conflict with God and His Word, where do we land? Can’t we find a middle ground somewhere that pleases all people on all sides of an issue? 

It is doubtful. In fact some, to include me,  would say it is not biblical. The world is at enmity with God. The choices are real. The choices are eternal. It’s not just a popular verse of scripture but a true moment by moment decision. How do you decide? As for me and my house we will serve the Lord. 

Serving the Lord puts us in the pit of miry trenches with gut wrenching decisions. You reach what Henry Blackaby refers to as a “crisis of belief.” These are those times when the Bible teaches one thing but you choose to wrestle with compliance or denial. Do those decisions honor God? Do those decisions show real righteous love? The kind that honors God or the kind that put others before Him? It isn’t easy. If it were the sacrifices would mean little. 

I wish God had some things arranged differently. It could make for a more peaceful life. He hasn’t. He knows better than I. And although I question Him, I’m certain He is big enough to handle me and my questions. 

Lord Jesus, give me faith to fall into Your righteousness and not my own selfishness. Move me away from questioning “why” to asking ” How.” Just tell me how I’m to live out Your will and Your way. And this in the Spirit of love. Holy Spirit enable me to stand firm in Your teachings while reflecting Your grace. 

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

