Memories of Hearon Circle

I’m going back many years to my days as a youngster. Unless you are from these parts, you are likely unfamiliar with Hearon Circle. It is a major road that travels under interstate 85 business. It is laid out in a circle rather than an intersection. Fun to get on and off the circle! 



The businesses have change but when I was small I can remeMber going to the Dairy-Dreame and getting ice cream. Dad always got a hum-dinger. It’s like a banana split in a big cup. 

On the other side of the interstate was an Exxon station where I took my volkswagen fastback to a high school friend who was working there part-time to change the water in the radiator. He spent several hours trying to find the radiator before his boss told him volkswagons didn’t come with a radiator. He almost lost his job and I almost lost a friend. Humor prevailed. 

What made me think of Hearon Circle is reading the story in Luke 15:17. But when he came to his senses, he said, ‘How many of my father’s hired men have more than enough bread, but I am dying here with hunger! (‭Luke‬ ‭15‬:‭17‬ NASB) I refer to this as the time the young prodigal “smelt the bread” even if in his mind and decided to return home. 

You see, across from the Dairy-Dreame was a bread and pastry plant called Flowers Bakery. Oh it smelt so great driving by. The aroma was enticing and inviting. I think when one realizes how much God our Heavenly Father wants us in His fellowship then we run to him to receive the enticing and inviting love of God. Don’t you desire that? I know I do. 

God will receive you. Do you smell the bread?

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Faith, Life's Lessons, love, Religious, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

