Preaching

In his chapter on preaching Evangelist Junior Hill says of some preachers, “they have unwittingly distanced themselves from anything that remotely resembles Bible Christianity. Driven by an insatiable hunger for numerical success they have down-played repentance, cast aspersions upon faithfulness and commitment, and deliberately obscured the clear and authentic demands of the cross.” (Junior Hill, Out Of Season, page 30)

I had the terribly sad experience of sitting under the teaching of a ‘pastor’ for over three months and not one time did I hear a call to repent. Neither did I hear words of Jesus Christ dying on a cross for the sins of mankind. There no mention of the death, burial, or resurrection. The word sin did not leave the preacher’s lips.

The focus was on practical instruction to behave better in morality. The sin problem is left unresolved.

‘Invitations’ were relegated to ‘grab someone you trust’ after the service. Attendees are instructed to seek out someone other than the ‘pastor.’

Jesus is spoken of in this verse, And I, if I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all men to Myself.” (‭John‬ ‭12‬:‭32‬ NASB)

Pastor, let’s keep the main thing the main thing.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Leadership. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

