Facebook Inundated

My personal Facebook page is inundated with religious statements, photos, sayings, and varied tidbits to make you think about God and all that surrounds the Christmas season.

Some may think this statement as a complaint when it really isn’t. Truth be told I do grow somewhat weary of postings which uplift God and His attributes of love, grace, mercy and so on from people who exhibit a far less lifestyle than the one they exclaim. I truly like God being lifted up even if it comes from pagan heathens.

Strange isn’t it that one could grow weary of the way truths about God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit are shared. Stranger still is the reality, though not often revealed, where people tire of reading and hearing the bible. I once had a New Testament professor say he had times he did not feel like reading the bible. I thought that to be very odd. After all, he was a bible professor!

Certainly by now you wonder about me? I’m an ordained minister who loves the Lord. I know without Him, Jesus, I can do nothing. I’d be headed for hell had it not been for Jesus Christ, His life, death on a cross, burial, resurrection, and ascension. My Lord Jesus died for my salvation. Your salvation as well.

So how can I even mention tiring of good positive spiritual posts on Facebook. How is it I could confess to growing weary in reading the bible? It all points to humanity.

I enjoy hearing a person’s testimony supported by the truths of God’s Word as shared on Facebook more than photos, and little bits of religious commercializing.

Seems like a lot to get to the place to share a truth I gleaned from my recent studies in MasterLife Book 4: The Disciple’s Mission. The statement is made:

Jesus did not look for leaders when He chose His disciples. In fact, the word leader is used only three (I counted 6) times in the entire King James Version of the Bible. Jesus looked for servants who were obedient so that He could be the Leader.

I’m learning more and more how important it is to “Do things God’s Way” and that a good Christian leader is first and foremost a good “Servant of God’s.”

Would you care to join me in removing yourself as a leader and placing yourself as a servant?

Would you join me in placing more of your personal testimonies on Facebook and less of the popular pictures etc… which make their circuit?

What has Jesus done for you lately? Do you have a testimony you can share?

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Discipleship, God's Favor, Jesus, Leadership, Life's Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Facebook Inundated

  1. pastordave43724 says:

    Awesome well written…fresh and uplifting. As a pastor I totally agree with your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

