The Movers versus The Muscle

In 2001 I was making a move from the low country of South Carolina to the Upstate. A whole team of people came to help us load up for the beginning of a new ministry at Fairview Baptist.

The church I was leaving was so delighted in my leaving that no one showed up to say goodbye. Happens that way sometimes.
Eddie Wayne was driving one of the truck pulling a trailer. Once we jumped started one of the vehicles, off we journeyed to higher ground.

The trip was in its first hour of a four hour drive when it happened. If the small town muscle says you go 45 mph then that’s what he means. Eddie Wayne was towards the front, then there was the U-haul, and then me.

Eddie Wayne was taking the polite approach and trying to explain relocating the pastor to another ministry. You know, the compassion for the clergy appeal. The muscle, local police, didn’t seem to care. Eddie Wayne, Billy and his wife were all in the truck. I still don’t know what Billy said but the local lawman was not impressed.

I had pulled over and lined up behind the police car. I decided I’d get out and see if I couldn’t help matters. I said, “sir?” And he said, “get back in the car!” That concluded my involvement.

Moral of the story? You may have the muscles to move tons of weight but the local lawman can put the brakes on with just a pen, pad, and blue lights.

My recent trip to the area today brought back some memories. Thought I’d share.

By The Way,

Support Your Local Lawmen

Until Next Time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

