Integrity Matters

I was traveling home from work one evening in the early 1990’s when I listened to a popular pastor on the radio tell of a personal experience he had as he journeyed through the Atlanta airport. It was a personal experience shared with much detail.

The very next Sunday morning service after this broadcast a young man came and spoke for youth Sunday. During his sermon he shared a personal experience he had as he journeyed through the Atlanta airport. His experience was identical to one the one shared by the popular Atlanta pastor.

Needless to say, I felt concerned about the sharing of identical experiences. I had to question, to myself, the legitimacy of what was shared. I tend to think the Atlanta pastor was the one who had the actual experience. The young man probably shared it as an illustration and thought to make it his own. I’m guessing. Can’t be for certain.

Sometimes things are shared which come across as original with the speaker. Perhaps the one talking doesn’t mean to convey things as his/her idea. They just didn’t mention where it came from.

I’m reminded of a verse in the New Testament that says,

Now these were more noble-minded than those in Thessalonica, for they received the word with great eagerness, examining the Scriptures daily to see whether these things were so. (‭Acts‬ ‭17‬:‭11‬ NASB)

I have often heard it said, there is nothing new under the sun. Even if one should embrace that position, it would still make it courteous to state where we get our sources for our messages. Is it deceptive to withhold information, to give half truths, and fluff material to put ones self in better light?

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Leadership, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

