Used to sell life insurance

How many remember the days when the insurance guy would come by the house carrying his book which looked more like an accordion with a handle than a book?

He would come up to the porch and take the small envelop with the premium book inside from the screen door take the weekly, monthly payment, and mark the collection. Occasionally he would have to go inside. Some of the older folks liked the visit so the ‘insurance man’ would be invited in. It was about the only company many people received.

I was an insurance man many years ago. I can recall driving all over the country side looking for homes, running my route, and trying to make a sale.

I can tell you there were some homes I entered that simply were not fit to live in. The filth and stench of the place would make you gag. It wasn’t the place for weak stomachs.

I recall one home I visited where the pots used to cook the grits were set outside the front door for the dogs to eat. The food had dried up and swarming with bugs and flys.

The old couple who lived there didn’t clean house. The man was in such bad health he was on oxygen at all times. The home smelt so bad any one going in would need it as well.

As I was leaving I met the social worker who came to visit. She informed me that changes were coming. I might be having to make different arrangements in making my collections. The place was not fit to live in.

This experience reminds me of another home I have been a visitor in. It too is saturated with filth. The stench is unbearable at times. The home I’m referring to is Earth. The stench is sin in all it’s horrific forms.

Changes are coming. Are you ready?

“Do not let your heart be troubled; believe in God, believe also in Me. In My Father’s house are many dwelling places; if it were not so, I would have told you; for I go to prepare a place for you. If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also. (‭John‬ ‭14‬:‭1-3‬ NASB)

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in God's Favor, Jesus, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Used to sell life insurance

  1. KNGMusic says:

    Our lives were all filled with stench that would clear a room. Those that have found God are not better, but have changed their hearts and now put off sweet fragrance that would attract honey bees. Let us not visit others that smell only to walk away, but let us be welcoming and offer them the love of God that can change their lives.

Leave a Reply

