Cruise line Crew & Staff Spirituality

I mentioned in my last blog about one of God’s personal surprise for me was the possibility of attending a bible study usually reserved for the crew and staff. As it turns out there was a time when guests could attend bible studies with the crew. Unfortunately that privilege was devolved.

As Bro. Ricardo shared with my wife and me, there was a time when guests were allowed. It was stopped because some guests made trouble in the meeting area resulting in not only the guests not allowing to participate but also stopping the few crew members who were active in bible study to not be allowed to use the meeting place any longer.

What exactly happened was not disclosed. I didn’t seek to pry. I was disturbed at the difficulties given to crew members by guests. Bro. Ricardo stated they had just gotten back the privilege of using a meeting place again.

Therefore, we were not going to be allowed to join their bible study. I understood. I felt saddened these persons had to fight to regain a once held privilege. I ask Ricardo what I could do for him. He shared two specific things they needed. The first was prayer to be good witnesses and ministers of the gospel for all members of the crew and staff. The second request was for bibles. Specifically, New American Standard light weight bibles in English or the Philippine language.

I know these people have chosen to be away from there families for long periods of time. I know it is for employment. I also know it is their ambition to better their families that they do this. I’ve learned many of them Skype in efforts to stay in touch with family. A very expensive endeavor.

So Christy and I are going to try and send some NAS bibles along with some gospel tracks to this group of fellow believers. Faith comes by hearing and that hearing the Word of God. (Romans 10:17)

It is another way we can assist in making disciples for Christ. The Great Commission commands it.

On another note, the ship we are sailing on has a wedding chapel which is made available for personal worship at a specific time. No one leads this worship. It is what they call ‘self-lead.’

Grateful for the room and opportunity.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Discipleship, Religious, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

