Respect for Tarzan

An old man of some wisdom told me once, ” I’ll never fly in a plane.” I asked, “Why?” He responded to me saying, ” The Lord is not with you in those things. Don’t you know the scriptures say, ‘Lo I am with thee always, even until the end of the ages.’ So you see, only lo is Jesus with you; not up high!”

Granted a misuse of scripture but I thought of it today. I also thought of Tarzan. For many of you that name is not familiar. Rather than explain who he was may suggest you goggle him.

The reason behind these recurrences of memories is the action packed, breath-taking adventure of the day. I’ve had my experiences with fishing lines, which can be very frustrating. I have seen more than my use of clotheslines. When I small hanging clothes out on the line was just another chore to add to the workload of children. May do us some good to bring it back!

Today was my first experience with a line of a different sort. Any of y’all ever heard of as ‘Zip-line?’ I promise you Tarzan has gained even more respect from me after I traversed seven (7) horizontal zip lines plus two (2) vertical lines. When I say vertical I mean straight down. One was 90 feet and the other about 30 feet.

I confess I cried out to the most high God. Not ashamed at all to say so. I can’t fly, I can’t swim, but I learned today I can drop. One more thing about those descents. Some say the fall won’t kill ya but the landing will. I got news for you there was a time or two I thought my heart was going to give out before I landed. Therefore the fall can kill you before the landing has a chance.

So my shore excursion on our recent trip to Jamaica included the Zip-line journey. As my darling, precious, adventurous and I might add the one who signed us up for the ‘fun’ followed behind me, I had to man up and meet the challenge with the gusto of a manly man. I had to muster up courage without letting on my timidity. Mission accomplished?

Two things I did which turned out to be smart. One was to wear long legged pants. This way I didn’t burn my legs repelling down the ropes. The second was the trip to the men’s room just before taking off! This way I didn’t ruin my clothes!

Could the old man have been on to something? The Lord not with you while up high? I found today just the opposite. The Lord was with me as I zipped across several lines.

So should you try your flight on a zip-line? I say yes. Only while zipping for here to there sing out to the The Lord an old hymn; Draw me nearer, nearer, nearer blessed Lord….

My faith increased. My trust in God increased. My years may have decreased.

Until next time,

Hoss

P.S. Cruising the Atlantic

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Humor. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

