What a sight that must have been!

Sunday School Lesson
May 11, 2014

1. In the year of King Uzziah’s death I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, lofty and exalted, with the train of His robe filling the temple.
2. Seraphim stood above Him, each having six wings: with two he covered his face, and with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew.
3. And one called out to another and said, “Holy, Holy, Holy, is the Lord of hosts, The whole earth is full of His glory.”
4. And the foundations of the thresholds trembled at the voice of him who called out, while the temple was filling with smoke.
5. Then I said, “Woe is me, for I am ruined! Because I am a man of unclean lips, And I live among a people of unclean lips; For my eyes have seen the King, the Lord of hosts.”
6. Then one of the seraphim flew to me with a burning coal in his hand, which he had taken from the altar with tongs.
7. He touched my mouth with it and said, “Behold, this has touched your lips; and your iniquity is taken away and your sin is forgiven.”
8. Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I. Send me!”
9. He said, “Go, and tell this people: ‘Keep on listening, but do not perceive; Keep on looking, but do not understand.’
10. “Render the hearts of this people insensitive, Their ears dull, And their eyes dim, Otherwise they might see with their eyes, Hear with their ears, Understand with their hearts, And return and be healed.”
11. Then I said, “Lord, how long?” And He answered, “Until cities are devastated and without inhabitant, Houses are without people And the land is utterly desolate,
12. “The Lord has removed men far away, And the forsaken places are many in the midst of the land.
13. “Yet there will be a tenth portion in it, And it will again be subject to burning, Like a terebinth or an oak Whose stump remains when it is felled. The holy seed is its stump.” (Isaiah 6:1-13 NASB)

Background
N.T. Background

John 12;41 Christological passage. Isaiah never forgot what he saw.
Matthew 4:18-22 “follow me”
Matthew 16: 24-26 If any man will come after me. Deny & follow
John 13:1-20 servant role
Romans 12:1-2 reasonable service
1 Peter 1:11 “glory”
Philippians 2:5f Humbled servant
Rev.4:8 Holy is The Lord God Almighty
Rev. 5:13

B. O.T. Background

8th century – Southern kingdom 740 BC
Time of tentative peace
Uzziah was king of Judah
Pekah is king of Northern Kingdom
Amos & Hosea were prophets to the Northern kingdom at this time
Isaiah and Micah were prophets to the Southern kingdom at this time
Time of the Assyrian crisis
Syro-Ephraminic Coalition
Instability was everywhere
Moral Crisis — God called Isaiah

C. Theological Background

Lordship requires servanthood
God is holy. Man is sinful
Judgment is coming to those who refuse to repent.

Exposition — The Call of a prophet is a call to service.

I. Isaiah sees The Lord in His matchless glory & holiness. 6:1-4
Isaiah saw The Lord! Christ
High and lifted up
Isaiah was surrounded by the seraphim who declared:
Holy, Holy, Holy is The Lord of host
the whole earth is fulll of His glory
The posts of the door moved at the voice of Him
The house was full of smoke
Isaiah would never be the same.

II. As a result of Isaiah seeing The Lord, Isaiah saw himself. 6:5-7
{We preach Christ and the people have no sense of there sinfulness}
Woe is me! for I am undone. ***
I am a man of unclean lips & I dwell among people of unclean lips.
For my eyes have seen The Lord of hosts.
Isaiah’s lips were purged

III. As a result of seeing The Lord and having his sins forgiven, Isaiah is then responsive to
the Lord’s call. 6:8-13
Whom shall I send? Here am I, send me.
Go and tell this people:
Have ears but shall not hear
Have eyes but shall not see
Have hearts laden with fat and yield none
Isaiah asks, ‘How Long”? until the cities be wasted.

About Seraphim –
The seraphim (fiery, burning ones) are angelic beings associated with the prophet Isaiah’s vision of God in the Temple when God called him to his prophetic ministry (Isaiah 6:1-7). Isaiah 6:2-4 records, “Above him were seraphs, each with six wings: With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying. And they were calling to one another: ‘Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is full of his glory.’ At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.” Seraphs are angels who worship God continually.

Isaiah chapter 6 is the only place in the Bible that specifically mentions the seraphim. Each seraph had six wings. They used two to fly, two to cover their feet, and two to cover their faces (Isaiah 6:2). The seraphim flew about the throne on which God was seated, singing His praises as they called special attention to God’s glory and majesty. These beings apparently also served as agents of purification for Isaiah as he began his prophetic ministry. One placed a hot coal against Isaiah’s lips with the words, “See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for” (Isaiah 6:7). Similar to the other types of holy angels, the seraphim are perfectly obedient to God. Similar to the cherubim, the seraphim are particularly focused on worshipping God.

Read more: http://www.gotquestions.org/seraphim.html#ixzz30yU3GXqL

Until Next Time

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Church, Religious, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

