Damaging the ‘Church’ Ministry

Let’s get real. I mean really real. Let’s own up. Take responsibility. It’s your fault. It’s my fault. We are to blame.

Over twenty-five [25] years ago I read a book by Warren Wiersbe called The Integrity Crisis. It deals with the churches’ lost of integrity. It is a sad reality our churches can not and do not speak with any authority as it once did. The reason this is the case is because of us.

I’m not Methodist and do not practice the season of Lent. However I commend those who do it in biblical earnest. Not liken unto the woman who is a lay-speaker in her church yet using foul, vulgar language and confessed to holding it back as she observed Lent only to announce she can now cuss because Lent is over. Such an attitude displays many things, one of which is a careless concern for damaging the churches’ ministry.

I’m such a gullible ole soul. I actually think when people profess their christianity that they actually refrain from drinking intoxicating beverages. Is it wrong for me to be disappointed when they show pics of themselves with these beverages in hand?

To hear people talk about having sex with multiple partners in multiple ways as though it is a recreational activity seems foreign to biblical directives. Yet these same people hold leadership positions in churches of all denominations and all is well?

I used to accuse my parents {to myself of course} of telling me to “do as I say do, not as I do” as an indictment against their parenting skills. I’ve come to learn it is an indictment against me and other church members who shame the name of Jesus with our insistent actions contrary to biblical doctrine.

Am I wrong to get angry about the rampant disregard for godly living? Am I wrong to get angry when people’s actions damage the church? The gates of Hell will not prevail against the church but it’s membership sure gives it a run.

Random thoughts.

Until Next Time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, God's Favor, Leadership, Life's Lessons, Religious. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

