A Review: Heaven Is For Real

The fact is Heaven Is For Real! Some in the religious community are insulted and have a bruised pride because the world is proclaiming a message the church has been communicating yet the church hasn’t gotten as much attention for it.

If you are looking for a presentation of the gospel where you are told how to get saved, you will not find it in this movie. The only truth of scripture to be presented is ‘God is Love. The fact is the theme of God’s love permeates so much of the movie one might make an argument that the movie suggest salvation for everyone because God loves every one. It comes across as automatic salvation for all.

In one scene the boy’s father appears to suggest his ‘Pop’ got to heaven because God loves everyone. There is no mention of the way of salvation.

This movie gives as account of the experience of a four year old boy’s actual contact with heaven, Jesus, and certain individuals. These encounters, should we receive this presentation as truth, teaches us some things not mentioned in the Bible. For instance:

No one wears glasses in heaven
Every one is young in heaven
Aborted fetus’ are little children in heaven
Jesus has a horse {though some would say Revelation presents this truth}
And I guess the most interesting {for me} is the boy identifies what Jesus really looks. A picture of Jesus is drawn by a girl in another country who has autism and Colton saids, “That’s Him.”

The movie doesn’t seek to argue the experience of Colton. It presents them for the viewer to decide. Some could find comfort from watching the show. I came away with unaffected devotion or change in my relationship with Jesus. It was a movie to view and not a theological discourse requiring spiritual decisions and hermeneutical parsing.

Here’s what made me a bit uncomfortable.

Colton’s dad is a minister. His wife came across as a bit more worldly in appearance than I am comfortable with. But that’s just me.

More than once I was expecting a sex scene to be played out by the parents of Colton.

The parents are shown to be in financial trouble yet a major expense is undertaken. Fiscal responsibility in question. You’ll have to see the movie to determine my reference.

On a scale of 1 to 10. I’d give it a six, at most a seven. I was bothered last weekend when it didn’t top the box office but came in third. Now I can understand why.

Heaven Is For Real presents a truth. The church presents the same truth. Just happened the book made into a movie presented it in a more compelling way for the general public to become interested in it. There may be some who will be drawn closer to God because of the movie but do I expect another Great Revival to be spawned from this? I would be surprised. [Course the great evangelist Jonathan Edwards once said, ‘a revival is a surprising work of God.’]

Until next time

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Church, Death, Faith, Family, Heaven, Jesus, Religious, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

