God’s Not Dead: A Review

Yesterday evening {4/4/14}, Christy and I went to see the movie ‘God’s Not Dead.’ Too often when when I go to one of these movies about God and/or The Holy Bible, I place an invisible wall of caution because I anticipate flaws. Granted this, guarded approach, can take away from what could be a more blessed event.

Last nights viewing of ‘God’s Not Dead’ was a rarity. The value of this movie is the rare experience of entering into worship in a secular setting. My approach to most religious movies is having to defend the movie’s account versus the Biblical account.

Without hesitation, I will put this movie among the top productions of religious motion pictures. It is scales above the recent “Son of God” movie recently released. The movie ‘Noah’ is not of much value to the public for Biblical truth.

The only movie I can say, in my opinion, is a better production of Biblical truth is Mel Gibson’s, The Passion of Christ.’

However, I do have two observations. First is the three lectures of argument for God are on an educational level where most viewers could not keep up with the flow of the arguments. The first argument takes up the creation of Earth with the Big Bang Theory vs. Creationism as found in Genesis 1. A lot of names are thrown out to substantiate arguments. The second argument/lecture took on the Evolution vs. Intelligent Design debate. The last lecture brought the argument to it’s natural or perhaps logical conclusion. It is a matter of Choice. You can exercise your freedom of “Will” or choice and make your own decision. Knowing this before going to see the movie will not take away from it’s effect.

Now for my second observation. It has everything to do with effect. You see, there were a couple of times the audience clapped. Most assuredly the crowd viewing the movie were pro-God. It was a worship experience which excited the spectators and who, like myself, probably left the theater renewed in their faith. Why? What made this happen when seldom do you see people experience the same renewed faith after Sunday morning worship?

It is because of what we saw. Our faith was renewed because we saw what happened to the characters. We saw God at work in the lives of several characters. We all waited to see what was going to happen. Our faith is not renewed after the Sunday morning worship because we do not see. This my friend is not faith. Faith does not gain strength because of seeing. It gains strength because of believing. To use an illustration in the movie: we don’t bring our luggage to the car. That is why the sense of renewed faith harnessed from the movie will be short-lived by most.

For this movie to have the impact on our lives would require a re-affirmation of our faith in God. This is my prayer. Sunday morning worship ought to see groves of people who watched this movie visit the altar to re-affirm their faith, not because of seeing the outcome but because of believing in the knowledge: God’s Not Dead regardless of the outcome.

Newsboys: God’s Not Dead

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Church, Jesus, Religious, Uncategorized, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God’s Not Dead: A Review

  1. schroera says:

    Thanks for your thoughtful review. I recently wrote an article for my blog based on the movie. Check it out if you have a chance and let me know what you think. Thanks!
    http://364daysofthanksgiving.com/god-dead/

Leave a Reply

