Saying #7 Word of Contentment

Word of Contentment Luke 23:46

Jesus cries with a loud voice, ‘Father into thy hands I commend my spirit, and having said thus, He gave up the ghost.’

This was an act of contentment, of faith, and of love. While he hung on the cross seven times His lips moved in speech. Seven is the number of completeness or perfection. Seven is also the number for rest in a finished work.

Seven times the dying Savior spoke.

Three times His words concerned man:
the promise of paradise
the giving of His mother for John to care for
the cry of thirst for the mass of people present

Three times His words were addressed to God.
the prayer of forgiveness for the people
the cry of abandonment from God the Father
the announcement of placing His spirit in His Fathers hand

Then there was the word for all to hear. It is finished!

I. Take a look at the Savior back in communion with God

On the cross for six [6] hours. Three [3] hours suffering at the hands of man and satan. Three [3] hours suffering at the hands of God. BUT NOW ALL IS DONE!

God is my Father and He loves me as He loves His Son, Jesus The Christ. [John 17:23] Therefore He cares for me.

God cares for me thus He will supply all my needs. [Phil. 4:19] God will see that all things work together for my good. [Romans 8:28]

BEHOLD WHAT MANNER OF LOVE THE FATHER HAS BESTOWED UPON US, THAT WE SHOULD BE CALLED THE CHILDREN OF GOD? [I JOHN 3:1]

II. Take a look at a planned contrast

For more than twelve [12] hours Jesus had been in the hands of man.
The Lord Jesus delivered Himself into the hands of sinners.
The Lord Jesus delivered Himself to be crucified.
VOLUNTARILY the Savior gave Himself, His spirit, his life to the Father.
Three [3] days later — Jesus was raised from the dead.
Forty [40] days later Jesus was exalted to the right hand of the Father.

How many days before The Lord Jesus returns?

III. Take a look at the perfect submission of Christ to God

When His mother sought Him in Jerusalem as a boy of twelve [12], He said, ‘Wist ye not that I must be about my Father’s business?”

When tempted of the devil to turn stone into bread, Jesus said, I live by every word of God. The whole of Jesus’ life manifested His perfect confidence in the Father.
In all things He left us an example. the Savior committed His spirit into the hands of the Father in death. And why not? It was committed to His Father throughout His life!

Is this true of you? Have you as a sinner committed your spirit into the hands of the God? Can you say, ‘I know whom I have believed in and am persuaded that He is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him against that day. [2 tim. 1:12]

As a Christian, have you fully yielded yourself to God? Are you living for the glory of Him who loved you and gave Himself for you?

IV. Take a look at the absolute uniqueness of the Savior

The Lord Jesus died as none other ever did. His life was not taken from Him, He laid it down of Himself. John 10:17-18
The Lord Jesus said, Father, into thy hands I commend my spirit. In John 19:30 we find where He bowed His head and gave up the spirit. He died as an act of His own volition.

V. Take a look at the place of eternal security

John 18:9, ‘Of them which thou gavest me have I lost none.’ Jesus Christ lived and died not for Himself but for believers. ‘Father, into thy hands…this is the place of eternal security. Believers are ‘kept by the power of God.’ 1 Peter 1:5

VI. Take a look at the blessings of communion with God

Christ communes with God in the midst of ridicule
Christ communes with God in the midst of pain.
Christ communes with God in the midst of loneliness
Christ communes with God in the midst of DEATH

Believers can commune with God in the hour of death. Not so for the unbelievers! These will find that ‘It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.’ Hebrews 10:31

VII. Take a look at the heart’s true haven

My friend, you are in a world that is full of trouble. You are unable to take care of yourself in life, much less in death. The world, the flesh, and the devil are combined against you. They are too much for your strength. Here is the Beacon of Light. Here is the Harbor of Shelter. Here is the Heart’s true Haven.

To fully understand the resurrection of Jesus Christ you must understand His death.

Until next time,

Hoss

Resource: Arthur W. Pink, Seven Sayings of Jesus from the Cross

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Death, God's Favor, Jesus, Religious, Scripture, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

