I Cannot Take The Blame

“I Cannot Take The Blame”

I raised you up the best I could
I pointed you toward Heaven
I taught you how to hone the gifts
And talents you were given

Now it seems you know what’s best
To go a different way
You’ve spurned the things that you were taught
Don’t hear a word I say

No longer are you just a child
You’re out there on your own
I cannot hold you in my arms
Your will is hard and strong

It breaks my heart to see you live
So different than your raising
You’ll have to find out for yourself
The pain from what you’re chasing

My child just please remember this
That what now seems amusing
Is just a smoke and mirror show
A nightmare of your choosing

I still believe that deep inside
Are all the things I taught you
And one day that you will return
To Jesus Who has bought you

But if you choose to not come back
Still live a life of shame
I promise I’ll still love you
But I cannot take the blame

Manning Strickland (2014)

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

