Treasures on the Other Side

My father was blind and went to school for the deaf and blind. One of his blind classmates was a man named Joe Parr. I went with my dad to a church to hear Joe Parr sing. Dad had told me that Joe was a stutterer when he talked but not when he sang. Agospel version of the country singer Mel Tillis.

One of the songs Joe sang that night was titles, Treasures on the Other Side. Joe gave me a copy of the song on a 45 rpm vinyl record. I recently found the record and transcribed it’s lyrics from the record. However, there is very very little information about this song on the internet. What little info I have suggest the song may have started out as an old Negro Spiritual while another suggest it has a bluegrass heritage to it going back to the 1950’s. The lyrics I have found change slightly from the ones on the 45. I wish I could put the tune on here for others to hear. Granted it is dated but its meassage is timeless.

STANZA 1
A mansion and a shining crown are waiting there for me
My friends and my loved ones there with my own eyes i’ll see
Ones that I’ve safely helped across the swelling tide
That’s my treasures waiting on the other side

STANZA 2
A pilgrim and a stranger here has journey here before
Seen a sign of heaven I’m so happy as I go
The world make think me poor and pass me by with scornful pride
They don’t know our treasures on the other side

Chorus
On the other side, treasures there have I
Treasures that this world and all it’s wealth will could buy
When I reach that city and it’s gates swing open wide
Find my treasures waiting on the other side

STANZA 3
You wonder why I’m happy in the things in which I’ve hold
Saying goodbye to this world and the things that charm me most
Had a vision of my Lord who for me bled and died
That’s my greatest treasure on the other side.

Chorus
On the other side, treasures there have I
Treasures that this world and all it’s wealth will never buy
When I reach that city and the gates swing open wide
Find my treasures waiting on the other side

Until Next time,

Hoss

PS. You do realize the “treasures” referred to here are ‘saved souls.’ What greater treasure?

“Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys, and where thieves do not break in or steal; for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. (Matthew 6:19-21 NASB)

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Heaven, love, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

