The church is dying

Look around you and you will see the church is dying. I will state again, emphatically, ‘The church is dying.’

Now before you cast me with the heathren, pagans, infidels, and atheists, let me explain a few things.

First, I said ‘church’ with a little ‘c.’ Therefore I am referring to local congregations and not the church universal.

Second, I am aware and believe this verse: I also say to you that you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build My church; and the gates of Hades will not overpower it. (Matthew 16:18 NASB)

Third, I am going solely by my observations and my opinion. Therefore the value of this may be greatly diminished in your sight. However, I have not gathered statistics, read article, or researched the vast forms of media.

God’s blessing on His church are not there like they need to be in order for many churches to continue. I do see things which I am convicted has harmed the church more than helped it. While these things are not all bad, their good is measured. Here’s a list:

Bibles in the pew and on the big screen. {Where’s yours?}

Too many translations, paraphrases, special editions, and emphasis bibles. {I’m not a King James only guy but come on, do we really need a bible for 50 year old men with balding heads? Well, we haven’t got that bad yet but …} Like cold medicine, cereals, and sodas, Too many options.

Too many people assembling for a ‘pep rally’ instead of a worship service. {It’s all about making them feel good when God is supposed to be the object of worship, glorification and honor.}

The Internet Church. While good for the disabled and immobile, it shouldn’t take the place of the abled going to a meeting house. {Found 247 religious/church channels on my Roku. Hey just stay home, worship in your PJ’s, sip your coffee and not sacrifice a thing for God. Use the remote and not even have to get out of bed. God really delights in you not sacrificing anything for Him. Not} I know, sarcastic statement. Beg your indulgences, please.

The matriarch/patriarchs of the local church assembly. {You know the ones. Their family help build the thing and they make up the majority so it’s their way or you’re sent on your way!}

The ‘Preachers.’ {I went to school with some fellas whose idea was to find a church where they could preach till they found a bigger church where they could preach until they found a bigger church where they could preach and play the political game in the spiritual arena of church celebrities.} We don’t need ‘preachers.’ We need “Pastors.” We need a pastor who preaches the Word, visit’s the shut-ins, the sick and the well!

Women pastor’s. {Authority over man?}

Competing churches. {Some pastors/preachers, some churches will admit it while others explain it away. Churches do compete for people to attend their church. Thats why Family life centers, gymnasiums, youth programs and etc… are taking place.}

And one last one: Church Shopping. No, not church hopping but church ‘shopping.’ {Families say they want to go to a church where there is a good youth choir, or a big church where they can get lost in the sanctuary and go relatively un-noticed. They seek a youth program, a church where little is asked of them, etc…} What they don’t shop for is the church God wants them to be.

Just some observations. Agree or not. After all, it is just one man’s opinion.

Until Next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Church, Death, Religious, Uncategorized, Worship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

