THE CHOICE:

BUILD UP OR TEAR DOWN

Years ago I heard a poem named “The Choice.” I do not know where I got it nor the author, but it illustrates an important truth.

“I watched some men tearing a building down,
a group of men in my home town.
With a heave and a ho and a mighty yell,
They swung the ball and a side wall fell.

And I said to the foreman, “Are these men skilled,
the type you’d hire if you want to build?”
And he smiled, then laughed and said, “No indeed,
common laborer is all I need.
For we can tear down in a day or two,
what it took a builder years to do.”

As I turned, I shook my head,
I knew there was truth in what he said.
And I thought to myself as I walked away,
which of these roles am I going to play?

Am I a builder as I work with care,
measuring life by the rule and square?
Am I shaping my deeds to a well-laid plan,
carefully doing the best I can?
Or am I a wrecker as I walk the town,
content with the labor of tearing down?

Will we “tear down or build up.”

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, God's Favor, Leadership, Life's Lessons, Rumor, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

