Burning with intense Passion

Many years ago I stood before a group of people and told them if you cannot contain yourself and become involved in sexual relations outside of marriage, you will go to hell. I used the following verse as scriptural support.

But if they cannot contain, let them marry: for it is better to marry than to burn. (1 Corinthians 7:9 KJV)

The problem is the scripture referenced above really doesn’t say that. When I read ‘burn’ I immediately thought of hell. I came to find out the verse was referring to ‘burning with passion.’ I now understand if a couple, male and female, are burning with a passionate desire for each other it is better for them to get married than to give in to that passion. There are repercussions if they don’t.

Passion is not a bad thing. Love is only one area where passion needs to be controled. Passion not under control can lead us to say things in ways we never intended. Passion can cause us to hear something all-together different from whats being said.

Left unchecked, passion can ruin friendships, marriages, and relationships of all kinds. However, passion is a good thing. Parents are passionate about their kids, fans passionate about their football teams and the other sporting teams, and people are also passionate about religion.

Passion can also cause people to be mis-understood. I have seen cases where someone writes something only to be taken in the wrong way.

Be Passionate!

Control your Passion

Expect to be misunderstood.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, Scripture, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

