Right to Refuse

I remember going, as a small child, with my parents to the Piedmont Cafe. I thought the place was cool because of the man who owned the place was from another country and was kind. I also liked it because at the back there was a section that had mirrors on both sides of the room. This type of decor cause each mirror to reflect the mirror across the room. You had a continuous reflection on each side. Awesome.

However, there was one thing that bothered me. Written on each menu was a phrase that went something like this:

We reserve the right to refuse service

I thought it was mean. Why wouldn’t you want to serve someone a meal? I don’t remember ever asking why the owners felt that way. I do remember noticing a few more eating establishments having the same policy.

Now that I am older, I think I understand. As an Owner of a restuarant, I would not want to serve…
a drunk person so wasted he is making himself a nuisance
a drug addicted person so high on drugs s/he is out of control
gang bangers
someone being rude to my staff and/or customers
someone wearing obscene and vulgar clothing or talking that way.

Is that really so wrong?

Can you still do this in the USA?

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

