Shoot it or Run from it?

One of the many advices I received from my mentor pastor actually came from his wife. She told me it was not appropriate to refuse food offered to you when invited into a home and served a meal. Even if it is goat meat, she said, eat it and understand it may be the best they have to offer. It could be a prime meal if you are in another country. I promise to do as she asked. One promise I wished I had not made.

As it would happen, I was invited as a guest to a meal to honor volunteers. I had been serving the local hospital for a while. So on the appointed day I arrived at the local country club and ushered to my reserved seating. After a brief welcome, we were instructed on how to proceed to the serving line.

I had no idea what was on the menu. Worse yet, I wasn’t allowed to fill my plate. That was done for me. A server placed a portion of food on the plate, handed it to another server where the process was repeated. Now my palate is not that varied. My expanse of a varied palate is whether to get fried, Bar B Que, Skin or skinless chicken!

I looked up the line and was shocked at what I saw. It was a large rectangle metal dish holding a repulsive looking swamp. It was covered in patches of a yellowish orange substance with areas of green slimed logs floating in a milky white paste. At any moment I expected to see some type of creation reach out and attack me. I did not know whether to shoot the ‘thang’ or run from it!

I remembered what my pastor’s wife had said. “Eat it.” It was like she was there though not within miles of the place. I could not help but ask myself, ‘would she really eat that? Neither did I want to offend the folks who invited me to come. Thank goodness for the water, bread, salad, crackers, and side dishes which helped me to swallow and keep my promise.

To this day, I won’t or will ever eat any more asparagus casserole.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Humor, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

