Good ole days?

I used to hear my dad talk about the good ole days. I thought they must have been really great days.

Then dad would embellish his stories with walking to school uphill both ways and that during a blizzard. He would talk about what they didn’t have. No money, shoes, clothes etc.

However they were still the good ole days. There were things they had to make them good ole days.

I miss my good ole days. For me the good ole days were kids playing outdoors with other kids. It was a time when there was more respect for elders than the disrespect and bad attitudes we see today.

I like the good ole days when adults were discreet. Under garments were actually worn under outer garments and not seen by the public.

It was a time where things/behaviors were kept in the closet. Now everyone is coming out and the media thinks it is news worthy. Who opened the closet?

Tweaking was something only animals did. Bestiality wasn’t even talked about. Now the news media plasters it on social medians like Facebook. (wspa.com)

Give me the good ole days of community and neighbors who knew each other. Block parties were frequent but weren’t called that. It was being neighborly while watching the kids catch lightning bugs.

Do miss the good ole days? What do you miss about them?

Until next time

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Life's Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

