Disconnected

Today was a day of warm delights. I may be getting old. I may be getting tender-hearted. I just know there were times when I fought back emotions. Something tells me I should have relaxed enough to not hold back tears.

I was so glad to see family. There were some I have not seen since last year. I tell them we ought to get together. I am serious.

In the midst of the joy seeing family was my self reflecting of so many family members I have become ‘disconnected’ with. I have cousins who I am disconnected with. I did not nurture a relationship with them as I should have. Now perhaps they feel as I do. Just disconnected. I take responsibility.

Other members of my family have gotten wrong at me. Because of that everyone suffers. Their absence is a no-win situation. Civility does not require agreement with people you have disagreements with. Civility is being mature enough to agree to disagree.

I took a moment today while the family was visiting to survey the attendance. In a moment I listed 32 family members who were absent. I thought how some were absent because of sickness. Others absent because of distance or death in the family. Again, I thought about my lack of involvement in their lives that attributed to being ‘disconnected’ with so many.

I guess what I saying is this – Family is important enough to stay connected in spite of distance, opinions and so forth.

Family: It was good to see you. Absent Family: You were missed.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

