Withered Away

In the late 1980’s I was a bible student at Clear Creek Baptist Bible College in Pineville, KY. Part of the requirement for the Pastoral Care class was a supervised ministry in the local hospital and nursing home.

I was asked by a nurse at the nursing home to see if I could help calm a resident down. The lady needed to take her medicines but was too worked up to do it. She wanted someone to take care of her concerns. I agreed to talk with her.

Basically it all boiled down to her being convince the other resident sharing her room was sneaking a guy into the room at night and being intimate. I did more listening than talking. I assured her I would talk to the staff about it cause we certainly did not want that kind of behavior here!

Course I shared with the staff what she said and told them she had calmed down and took her medicines. Staff let me know she gets these ideas in her head and worry to no end. It was so bad she had developed a heart problem.

It was two weeks before I returned to the nursing facility. Our class schedule put us at the hospital one week and nursing home the next. Sadly I was informed the lady had died. It was told me she got some strange idea and could not be convinced it wasn’t true. She got all worked up. She refused her medicine. Her heart gave out and she died. Worry killed her.

A Second Scenario

This is kinda the same but kinda different.

This particular woman cared a lot about her kids. Yet her kids grew up to cause her great heartache. The oldest was a son. He would eventually squander his inheritance he convinced his parents to go ahead and give him. He went bankrupt. Lost the house and land.

The second child was also a son. He couldn’t [wouldn’t] hold down a job. Married at least three if not four times. I forget. Got hooked on drugs including prescription drugs. He is currently living on the dollars of the taxpaying citizens of the USA. He is an alcoholic. His drunkenness lands him on the floor and to the hospital. This enables him to get more painkillers to use, sell and barter for liquor.

His mom cared for him very much and she did all she could to help him. Both her and her husband. The second son depleted his parents life saving.

His mother died of congestive heart failure. I believe she cared greatly for her children. She sacrificed much. They did little more for her and did much to worry her.

The mother’s third child was a daughter. The child lacked ambition. Still does. The daughter’s skill at reasoning was flawed. If she got a job, she couldn’t keep it. She too is being provided housing, medical, etc. by the tax dollars of the working class.

Both of these women withered away. Both lived well into senior adult age. Both showed the years of concern on their faces.

The second woman I watched withered away. She cared greatly for her kids. She was a godly woman. She was a good woman.

A Third Scenario

I am deeply afraid I am seeing it again.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Death, Family, love, Worry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

