Missing/Forgotten/Robbed: A childhood story

I was a student at Carver Junior High School. It wasn’t many months past christmas when I had to stay after school with the rest of the chorus class. We were getting ready for a concert and were required to do more rehearsals.

Naturally I didn’t drive. The plan was for mom to come get me when she got off work. Practice lasted till about 3:30. Mom got off work around four so not a real long wait, right? Wrong!

I waited outside the front entrance of the school. It was about 4:15. No worries yet. Then it neared 4:30. I was getting a little more bothered. As time went by more and more people left the school.

It was just before 5:00 when I began seriously thinking about the walk home. Only problem was a couple of rough neighborhood, dogs, and to be totally honest, a white boy going through a black neighborhood trying to get home. So I decided to wait a few more minutes.

Bad decision. Two big guys walked up to me. I’m all alone. One asked for a dime. A dime? I ain’t got any money. Told them so too. They did not like my answer. One of the guys put a wooden cane across my neck while the other one took my watch. It was a new watch. A Bulova. I just got it for Christmas.

They ran off and I ran to the principals office. He got in his car and went after the guys. I stayed at the school because mom was surely on her way to get me.

Principal Wright got back without finding the guys or retrieving my watch. In my despair I began the walk home. Sure I had to go through the rough neighborhoods but I’d already been wiped clean of my possessions. If anyone bothered me I guess I could just point them in the direction of the guys who had just robbed me!

I hadn’t gone too far when I turned the corner and who should I see; but dearest mom coming to get me. I was relieved and overjoyed. I had a safe way home. I felt really great, UNTIL mom told me why they were so late coming to get me.

Seems they sat down to eat supper and noticed me missing. [Here is where the light bulb comes on]. Where’s Warren? They remembered they were supposed to pick me up at school!

I was missing. I was forgotten about. Took the family gathering for supper to be remembered. Then to cap off the ordeal I was robbed of a perfectly good watch.

If only I had a cell phone. Hold up. The thieves would have taken that too.

Until next time

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Family, Life's Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

