Jesus Quiets a Rumor [sub-title: ‘But what about…’]

This is my recent post re-titled.

There are cases of genuine interest in others which are not tainted with jealousy, envy, and other such negative sinful emotions. Howbeit, we seldom witness such occasions. More times than not we find covetous people rampant. I’m sure you’ve heard of the petitions for prayer as opportunities for the spread of rumor. The gossip mill advances under the disguise of prayer.

My wife, Christy, shared a bible passage with me while at church this morning. It appears Jesus had to get a little ’emphatic’ about a false rumor. Clarification was in order because of something Jesus said which the people, likely disciples, misrepresented.

Truly, truly, I say to you, when you were younger, you used to gird yourself and walk wherever you wished; but when you grow old, you will stretch out your hands and someone else will gird you, and bring you where you do not wish to go. ” Now this He said, signifying by what kind of death he would glorify God. And when He had spoken this, He said to him, “Follow Me!” Peter, turning around, saw the disciple whom Jesus loved following them; the one who also had leaned back on His bosom at the supper and said, “Lord, who is the one who betrays You?” So Peter seeing him said to Jesus, “Lord, and what about this man?” Jesus said to him, “If I want him to remain until I come, what is that to you? You follow Me!” Therefore this saying went out among the brethren that that disciple would not die; yet Jesus did not say to him that he would not die, but only, “If I want him to remain until I come, what is that to you?” (John 21:18-23 NASB)

So Jesus essentially saids for Peter to concern himself with Peter. No reason to compare your death to how someone else will die. Is that not a word for us?

Focus on yourself and your own relationship to Jesus and not everybody else’s. As far as everyone else, take that matter to your private prayer closet and not your local chatter club.

Don’t forget to check out the link.
The Rumor Song

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Death, Life's Lessons, Religious, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

