Chaps My Hide

This is one of those cases where I am reminded of the awesomeness of God.

A few months ago I heard my brother use the expression ‘chaps my hide’ and I thought how vividly that describes how some incidents make me feel.

For awhile now my bride and i have been dealing with what appears to be a compulsive liar. Accusations are made by her and we seek to investigate, verify, and respond appropriately.

I know what the Scripture saids about God’s position on lying. It is name among the seven things God hates.

There are six things which the Lord hates, Yes, seven which are an abomination to Him: Haughty eyes, a lying tongue, And hands that shed innocent blood, A heart that devises wicked plans, Feet that run rapidly to evil, A false witness who utters lies, And one who spreads strife among brothers. (Proverbs 6:16-19 NASB)

The reason I am reminded of the awesomeness of God is because I’d like to take her and others like her and slap some leather on their butts! God’s justice will be administered more appropriately than mine. He is much better than I at administering justice in the bounds of love.

None the less: A lying tongue:

Chaps my hide!

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, love, Religious, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

