One Man’s Trash is another Man’s …

It’s an old adage most can recite and have used on more occasions than one could count. One man’s trash is another man’s treasure. Well this edition of Hoss’ Blog deals with that but with a twist. We could sub-title this Value versus Worth.

She is 13 years old. I’ve had her for 12 years. When she first came to the house, I ooh and awed over her for months. Maybe even years. She was smooth and dark, cozy and tempting. We were a perfect match.

Any time I was ready to go, so was she. We went everywhere together. Florida, North Carolina, and South Carolina. Some even made comments on how good we looked together, as if to imply we were ‘made for each other.’

She was perhaps not very valuable to some but to be she was of great worth. Her only glitch was her over-protectiveness. She was sometimes lock herself up so no one would bother her. That sometimes included me.

Then it happen: The “Kiss of Death.” The night was clear enough. The temperature normal. The road sparsely busy. My girl kissed a donkey! It was to be the termination of our pleasant relationship.

My 13 is the 2000 Chevy Malibu I bought brand new in 2001. Dark Cherry colored smoothness wrapped around her body. Tanned out in a clear coat finish that glistened with the sun.

The sadness I am engulfed with as I post this blog is deep. She is of such great worth to me. She carried my precious wife to work and back home to me. Now the insurance company is going to slap a terminal illness to her and mark her as totaled [terminal, expired, etc…]

With 211,000+ miles leads some to think she’s not of much value. Shucks, to me she is still of great worth. She’s been ‘around the block’ enough to know her way around. She has a great deal of experiences.

Some insurance company thinks this car is trash when I think she is a treasure. Now, somehow, we’ve got to find another ride with the little to nothing the car insurance company will give us. I’m thinking ‘Fisher Price’ dump truck?

By the way, the donkey died too. 😦

Until next time,

Hoss

20130531-162518.jpg

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, Uncategorized, Worry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

