What > How > Why? — An explanation of Me!

My last blog had the second highest view rate for any one day viewing than all my other blogs. Part of the reason for this was the subject matter and it being recommended by a friend for her friends to read. I kinda hope this blog surpasses all my records in views, recommendations, and comments.

This is perhaps one of the strangest titles I have ever put to a blog. It really doesn’t clue you in on the subject matter. The reason for this title is simply because I could not think of a short one that explains this blog.

I just returned from a three-day team building conference my employer required I attend. The experience turns out to be a good one. it wasn’t the usually exercise in staying awake through lecture after lecture. We all know what challenges those bring.

We viewed a video presentation from http://www.TED.com on the last day. In that video was a statement which kept being repeated. The statement was, “People do not buy what you do but why you do it.”

Here is the link to the actual video: It is a little long. It contains business jargon but comes with sufficient explanation to make it worth the watch. In my opinion.
People do not buy what you do but why you do it

I fear I may have already lost your attention, however stay with cause I’m about to shift gears.

This presentation was geared to the business sector. I want to place it in the spiritual arena. And not just any spiritual arena. I’m going to put it in mine.

Why am I a Christian? Why do I discipline myself to biblical standards. I often fail. Albeit, I still aim to live by godly principles and precepts outlined in the Holy Bible. Rather than focusing on what and how I live, seek to understand my Why.

I believe there is no better way of life than a righteous attempt to live as God instructs.

So, to take the statement, “People do not buy what you do but why you do it.” as a position to tee off from, let me explain myself further.

I believe a selfless life of service is a better life than self gratification and self-glory. Therefore I am in favor of serving others selflessly. I am In favor of honoring God with your body, soul, and mind.

I believe a marriage of one woman to one man is a better lifestyle than any other arrangement. Therefore I buy into the biblical order of marriage over any other. It is not so much a stand against alternative lifestyles as it is in favor of scriptural mandates. To be in favor of Biblical standards of living naturally puts you in a place of opposition or at the least a place of non-support for any activity which is opposed to God’s order.

I believe sex should be between a man and a woman under the bonds of Holy Matrimony. Again my position is the author of the Sacred Word knows better than any one else what is good for you, therefore I choose to follow His prescribed plan. People think I am rude, cruel, judgmental, and on and on. I seek to be disciplined in my daily life according to holy standards. I do not always succeed. I fail.

I believe in a life in the here-after. Beyond what we call death is an existence of eternal bliss or eternal torment. Heaven or Hell are the only choices. Not annihilation, a continuous intermediate state, or a state of continuous sleep. Certainly not in reincarnation. My position should be viewed as one of favor to the Holy Bible. Folks often want to point out what I am against. Could you focus on why I am in favor of God’s Word?

I believe in God’s avenue to secure a home after death that brings us into His eternal presence. The avenue is referred most often as God’s Plan of Salvation.

I believe Jesus The Christ [Anointed One], is God’s Son who lived for us, died and bore our sins on Calvary’s Cross for us, was buried in a tomb defeating death, hell, and the grave for us, to be resurrected from the dead for us after three days to be ascended into the position of favor with God in His presence.

I believe there is no one who loves you like God does. There is nothing you can do to make God love you any less than He does right now.. There is also nothing you can do to make God love you any more than He does right now.

I could go on but I’ll try to bring this to some personal hard truths.

1. I am deeply saddened that family and friends want to focus on what I do not support without considering ‘why.’ The why is because of what I believe to be a better way of life and life after death.

2. I am torn from within that many whom I have baptized are no longer walking in the way of God. They display an attitude that ‘could care less what God thinks or feels.’

3. I am disturbed to the depths of my soul that family and friends have not bought what I try to sell with living the why I live as I do. “People do not buy what you do but why you do it.” My simple request is to see why I do, why I believe, as I do.

I have not successfully lived & communicated in such a way to where people will embrace God and righteous living. That is a pain indescribable with eternal consequences.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Christian, Life's Lessons, Religious, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

