I’m Going To See My Dad and …

I haven’t seen my dad since July, 1991. We haven’t talked since then. A lot of things he told me keep coming back to my mind. There is much I learned from him even though I wasn’t trying to learn it. I also believe dad was teaching me without him even realizing it.

Dad passed away in July 1991. I miss him. I wonder sometimes what our conversations would be like today. There were some times when dad gave me good advice and time when maybe it wasn’t so good. I think if we were to talk today he would agree. However, there was a lot of good things dad had to say. To this day I have not borrowed money from a finance company. Dad said that was not a good way to borrow money.

I believe dad is in heaven {trusting his late in life profession of salvation in Jesus}. There he can see. No longer hindered by blindness. He referred to his blindness as a hindrance and not a handicap. No longer is he wrapping his legs in gauze because of the phlebitis. It is gone. When I get to Heaven, I’m going to see dad.

In addition to dad, I’m going to look for Grandma J. She has been gone for a long long time. She taught me so much more than I realized. She taught me the importance of reading the Bible over and over again. I used to think she was strange the way laid in her bed with the little lite made into the iron headboard of her bed and read her bible every night. And then how she spoke of reading over again and again.

My thoughts were you should have gotten it the first time. I was young and did not have the smarts to know there was so much in the Bible to learn. I did not know it was alive. I did not know it was inspired.

She taught me the impact of the bible one Christmas when we were all together. She was near her journey’s end. She had dementia. I recall asking her if she knew what day it was? Even with the Christmas tree in the room and the lights blinking, she said she did not know.

When I asked her who the man sitting in the chair was, she did not know it was her son. At that point I pulled out a small green New Testament bible given to me by a Gideon. All the writing on the cover was gone. When I asked her what the book was, she said it was the bible. When she passed away I placed that Gideon New Testament in the casket with her.

Grandma J. taught me the bedtime prayer. She taught me not to dip snuff. She did this by dipping herself and leaving those cups sitting around. Nasty. LOL

My sister, brother and I spent a lot of time at grandma’s house. During the school week we would stay with her and walk to school and back. I might it was uphills both ways, with freezing temps and scorching heat. {perhaps a little exaggeration here} When I get to Heaven I’m going to look for Grandma J. and talk bible with her.

When most people hear the word Linberger, they think of cheese even though it is spelled ‘limberger.’ I think of my other grandma. She the one with the sense of humor. She’s the one who liked to try and embarrass my and my brother. She was fun. She was also seldom seen.

Grandma L. lived a long way from us and we didn’t get to see her that often. I think I’m the loser for not having been around her more often. When I think of her i think of:

1. The prank she pulled on me at a Publix grocery store when we went to Florida to visit.

2. The Chrysler New Yorker I bought from her. She sold it to me so cheap that the bank loaned me the whole amount! Yeah, it was an old folks car but it was clean and dependable.

3. The rule she had whenever you sat down at the table to eat. If you fixed your plate you had to clean your plate [that is eat all the food you put on your plate.] If she fixed you plate for you with the amount you requested, the same rule applied. If she fixed it without your assistance then you were not obligated to clean your plate. Same applied if you went back for seconds. To this day I blame her for being the full-figured man I am. Having to eat all on my plate you see.

When I get to Heaven I’m going to look for Grandma L. and tell her she has to clean her plate when she feasts at the Marriage supper of the Lamb! LOL

As you can gather by down as much as I look forward to seeing these and many others, when I get to Heaven it is Sweet Jesus I long to see. I ache to experience the look in His eyes, to touch His face and to hear the love in His voice.

Jesus is the lover of my soul, my salvation.

Jesus is the one who takes up for me when He speaks for me when God the Father wishes to know why I have acted the way I have.

Jesus justifies me in my salvation.

Jesus inspires me in my need to learn.

Jesus heals me in my sicknesses.

Jesus does all for me.

One more thing: When I get to Heaven I hope to see You.

THE BEAUTIFUL LIFE

Each day I’ll do a golden deed
By helping those who are in need
My life on earth is but a span
And so I’ll do the best I can

Life’s evening sun is sinking low
A few more days and I must go
To meet the deeds that I have done
Where there will be no setting sun

The only life that will endure
Is one that’s kind and good and pure
And so for God I’ll take my stand
Each day I’ll lend a helping hand

Life’s evening sun is sinking low
A few more days and I must go
To meet the deeds that I have done
Where there will be no setting sun

While going down life’s weary road
I’ll try to lift some traveller’s load
I’ll try to turn the night to day
Make flowers bloom along the way

Life’s evening sun is sinking low
A few more days and I must go
To meet the deeds that I have done
Where there will be no setting sun
No setting sun

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Heaven, Jesus, love, Religious, Uncategorized, Worship and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m Going To See My Dad and …

  1. David Akins says:

    Warren.. the part about your Dad touched me. I still havw my Dad. If I had lost him when you lost your Dad in those years… I would have been devastated. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

