A Learning Experience at the Spartanburg Regional Hospital Emergency Room

December 26th, 2012 ushered in a second day in a row my wife and I visited the emergency room at Spartanburg Regional Hospital.. Strange that when I returned to work and shared our experience at the emergency room, most of my co-workers thought we were at Wallace Thompson. We were not. In fact, there was some hours at the emergency center in the Spartanburg Regional Hospital when we considered leaving that BIG hospital and going to Wallace Thompson.

Christmas morning we were in the ER at Spartanburg Regional for 5 1/2 hours and released with only a guess of what could be causing my wife’s pain. She arrived that morning in pain and was sent home in pain.

The day after Christmas was spent in pain. Family doctor closed. The dreaded decision to return to Sptbg. Regional ER was made. Eight [8] hours was spent in the emergency center before going to an exam room. That would be 10:30 pm to 6:30 am) Only then was medication given for pain. Very soon thereafter a test was done and an immediate surgery was ordered to remove the appendix.

Oh, the explanations for long waits in the ER at Spartanburg Regional include:

* Patients coming to ER and lying about chest pains. They know they get moved to head of the list.
* No bed space in hospital. However, there are exam rooms available.
* People using the Emergency Room like it is their ‘family doctor.’
* And of course the drug seeking population looking for a ‘fix.’

So before you get too down on Wallace Thompson considering what may be waiting for you at the Spartanburg Regional ER!

UPDATE:
Received a letter from the manager over the ER from Spartanburg. Besides getting my wife’s name wrong, everything else was just as we expected. It wasn’t there fault. It was ours!! We are to blame! The only fault I can admit to going to Spartanburg thinking they would do the right thing.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Learning Experience at the Spartanburg Regional Hospital Emergency Room

  1. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content.
    Please let me know. Cheers

Leave a Reply

