Bring Em Back, Please?

There are people in my past I really miss and could wish them back but I don’t. I believe them to be in Heaven and would not wish this world back on them.

There are things I used to have I wish I could have back. These include moments of great joy like I felt when my daughter was a little baby and got out of the carseat while stopped at the bank teller window just to give me a hug.

These ‘things’ include days of accomplishments like high school, college, and seminary graduations. However, these are selfish desires. What about bringing back something which would be for the good of everyone. For instance what about…

1. The practice prevalent in my childhood when the parents would ‘send the kids out to play so the adults can talk.’ I didn’t understand why they did this when I was a child but I do now. I think this was a good thing because kids simply do not need to hear adult talk. Kids are learning way too much way too fast. Childhood is rushed for the sake of what?

2. I still think the practice of saying yes/no ma’am or sir is a good thing. It teaches respect. It’s wrong for grownups to tell kids they ‘don’t have to say that to them.’ It undermines what the parents are trying to teach. Respect is not a common practice any more.

3. And how about modesty? If we were to regain this vanishing character then maybe guys would figure out wearing pants around your waist as designed is really a good thing. If they are so proud of their underwear then put em on over the pants! It’s no different that the girls who show so much of their bra that they forget it is called an under-garment meant to be worn under your designed fashion apparel.

When I say “Bring Em Back” that’s the kind of things which would be welcomed and to which I refer.
Would you welcome back the three things I listed?

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Life's Lessons, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

