Asleep in class

Don’t you hate it when the class seems to go on and on for hours on end! So many times I have fought sleep so I don’t make undue noise and call attention to myself.

Ever sat in class next to the guy sleeping and he doesn’t care? even the teacher doesn’t bother to wake him up. Boy, if you could just get em to wake up!

I will admit to being a little bit mischievous and knowing a few other guys ‘worse’ than me. There was one occasion while at bible college. The professor always started and ended class in prayer. He would begin the class with his own brand of prayer and go right into his lecture.

As a student, your job was to pick out what might be on the test and most importantly, stay awake! One guy just couldn’t manage to stay awake at all. Every class he would snooze. Some of the other guys, certainly not me, decided to teach that ole boy a lesson.

At just the right moment one of the fellows nudged the boy and whispered, “He called on you to pray.” Immediately, the guy stands up and in the middle of the professors lecture began to pray. We, I mean the fellas, just knew the boy was caught dead to rights. The class was far from over.

Once the boy finished praying the professor looked at him and then at the class and said, “That’s what we need, more spontaneous prayers.”

So much for sleeping in class…

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Asleep in class

  1. That’s a very good response by the professor. Even if he was onto the guy.

Leave a Reply

