The Ceramic Bowl: A Christmas Memory

This submission is dedicated to the memory of my grandma Jones. What wonderful memories she left for me.

Ethel L. D. Jones

A tradition every Christmas was for grandma to fix the fruit salad for the family dinner. As a small child I remember the large ceramic bowl. It was the color of egg yokes when you boil eggs for deviled eggs. The bowl was big and heavy. I remember wrapping my arms around it to carry it to the table. I had strict orders not to drop it! The bowl had colored stripes going around the upper half. I remember very well the stripes being bold and wide.

The reason I remember the bowl so well is when I went to the table to ‘watch’ grandma cut up the fruits going into the salad, I was eye-level with the bowl. I couldn’t see inside the bowl. However, I really enjoyed ‘watching’ grandma do her magic with that bowl and the fruit. You know why?

I’ll tell you why. Grandma’s hands would get wet from the juices flowing from the fruits as she cut the oranges, tangerines, apples, and so on. Well, ever so often she would stop to dry her hand on the towel she had attached to her apron. Every time she went to dry her hands she would slip me a piece of fruit. Gosh, I love my grandma.

I’d stand there and watch her add some pecans and a few raisins and then top if off with either Sunny Day or Duke’s mayonnaise. There is no better mayonnaise than Duke’s!

Grandma got very sick and just that quick the tradition stopped. She has since died. I think of her often but probably not any more than during the Thanksgiving and Christmas Holidays. It’s not the same without her standing in the kitchen cutting up fruit and slipping portions to me. While I miss her, I look forward to seeing her in heaven one day. I just wonder…

Reckon God would let grandma fix a fruit salad for the big banquet? (Marriage Feast of the Lamb)

Until Next Time

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

