Should have been an Actor

It was late spring of 1977 as best as I can recall. School was winding down and we were just going through the motions.

As it would happen we had a young woman student teacher. Her name was Miss Bellamy. Mind you this is high school and she couldn’t be twenty one or twenty two years old at the very most. So you know what was a daily activity. A lot of the guys were making ‘nice’ with the teacher. Not a problem. It provided a convenient distraction and little class work.

On one particular day Bobby and I decided to get in a friendly match of ‘trading licks.’ For those who don’t know; that is where one hits the other one blow at a time until one gives up. Well, Bobby and I had been doing this for just a few minutes when it happened. Miss Bellamy caught me! Shouldn’t have been such a surprise with all the noise Bobby made falling out of his desk.

Anyways, I was sent to the principal’s office. Not a real problem unless you had a dad like mine who believed you should behave in school. The classroom was outside the back of the schoolhouse in a bricked section of classrooms. As I walked the long way to the front of the school, my mind kept trying to find some way to first, not get a spanking and second, not let dad find out!

I came up with a plan. It was brilliant. A true stroke of intellectual genius. Here’s how it went down. I went into the office when I saw Principal McMillan and asked him if I could buy a pencil? I gave him the .5 cents for the pencil and most importantly got him to sign the pass. I knew I had to have his signature on the pass when I returned it to Miss Bellamy.

From the front office to the back of the school house I slowly walked and rubbed my eyes. Just before going out the back door I stopped by the water fountain for a drink of water and some moisture for my eyes.

Quickly, before the moisture could dry I went into the classroom with my head bowed and gave Miss Bellamy the pass, turned and went to my seat. Winked at Bobby to let him know everything was cool. It was no time that the bell rang to end class. I None It, I thought. All the way up until Miss Bellamy called me to her desk when everyone else was leaving for their next class.

I made my way there expecting the full measure of being discovered in my deception when of all things she had this to say:

“Warren, I’m sorry I had to send you to the office but the class was getting out of hand and I had to set an example.”

You know……., “That’s okay.” 🙂

PS. Names were not changed due to statue of limitations having run out. Miss Bellamy, if you happen to be alive and read this, I’m sorry but you got played. And Bobby, for you all I can say is “I Won.”

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Humor, Life's Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

