Misguided and Ill-Advised

I’m not convinced we need it. It is the result of peer pressure. It is the result of mis-guided expectations. It is also the ill-advised practice of lazy uneducated people limited in their vocabulary.

I don’t have to have it in the movies I watch in order to enjoy a show. The videos I watch are better without them. Casual conversations with me are limited when the practice is employed because I simple don’t need it. Nor do I respect it.

Profanity is the indication of a person’s unwillingness to broaden their knowledge and use of language. Profanity does not flatter a person. It diminishes their character. Respect employs the use of practices deemed appropriate.

I prefer intelligent conversation not laced with vulgarities but with respecting another person’s worth. It is a broaden approach taught to me as a child. It was ‘yes ma’am, no ma’am’ or ‘sir.’ It is not just ‘respecting your elders’. It was basic recognition and rendering of respect. It should be practiced and accepted today!

Strange that people will use profanity yet at the same time think it inappropriate to talk to God with profanity. And you gotta love the person who is getting ready to spew out vulgarities but offers a preface of “God forgive me for saying this but…” Thats like asking God to forgive you for lying about your neighbor knowing before hand that you are going to do it.

If your vocabulary is limited and you feel compelled to curse then perhaps ‘Less said is best said.’

But now you also, put them all aside: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and abusive speech from your mouth. (Colossians 3:8 NASB)

But no one can tame the tongue; it is a restless evil and full of deadly poison. With it we bless our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the likeness of God; from the same mouth come both blessing and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be this way. (James 3:8-10 NASB)

Although taming the tongue is not able to be done, running with it loose and wagging is also cautioned.

Until next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

