The Saddest Book in the Pastor’s Library

I have often known what the saddest book is in my library. I’ve concluded it has to be the saddest book in every pastor’s library. The book is the pastor’s collection book that records the baptisms he has officiated.

When you reflect over the names of those whom you have baptized and note where they are in their lives today, it is enough to bring deep sorrow to your soul. Grant there are names within that are indicative of God-fearing and God-honoring lives.

The sad reality is more often than not those recorded therein show lives defeated, carnal and more in line with the god of this world than the God of the universe.

When I flip through the pages of my baptism records I find mostly people who are AWOE [Absent Without Excuse], can’t find them anywhere. I have at least one in prison, several living in lewdness, and many more on the church roll while living the role of little demons out in the world.

It is amazing how the world has changed. I was taught tonight that a girl has to ‘sleep around,’ that is to have relations with a man more than five [5] times before she is considered a whore. I asked where that comes from but didn’t get an answer. And if she does have relations with more than five guys she is referred to as a “hand” thus the five times or five fingers.

This is just one example of where we have gotten away from the Bible being the only standard for right and wrong. There is no mention of five times in the bible!

This evening the local news reported why the police thought there is a rise of incidents where they have had to draw their weapons. One deputy stated, ‘People do not respect authority like they once did.’ I would have to agree.

I’m thankful for the good I read in my baptismal certificate records. I know from looking at it how things look. I’m reminded of something I heard a long time ago: We may lose a battle here and there but we will win the war!

Until Next time,

Hoss

About Hoss

Married w/ 1 daughter & 3 step-children . Ordained minister. I do supply preaching every opportunity I get. Currently employed in a state prison system. Wife & I own a flower shop in a nearby city. I am approaching my late 50's, although I certainly don't look like it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

